Designing a Yes/No Questionnaire Where Answering Yes Immediately Leads to 3 Additional Questions

Designing a Yes/No Questionnaire Where Answering Yes Immediately Leads...
Author
cindy1358
Expert (1.1K reputation)Expert (1.1K reputation)Expert (1.1K reputation)Expert (1.1K reputation)Expert (1.1K reputation)Expert (1.1K reputation)Expert (1.1K reputation)Expert (1.1K reputation)Expert (1.1K reputation)
Group: Awaiting Activation
Hi everyone! I am new to Inquisit and I am trying to design a questionnaire where all 21 of my questions have yes/no radiobuttons as the answers and for each question, answering yes leads to 3 additional follow-up questions that must be answered using radiobuttons (whereas answering no means that those 3 questions are not needed). So is there a way to make those 3 questions appear on the same page only when someone answers "yes" and not when he/she answers "no"? I am looking into the branch attribute but the branching only seems to only apply to a trial/block as an event and not a radiobutton. Thanks in advance! 
Edited 8 Years Ago by cindy1358
Dave
Dave
Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)
Group: Administrators
Yes. From the <surveypage> containing the 1st yes/no question, you /branch to a <surveypage> containing the 3 follow-up questions if the answer is yes. In a nutshell:

<block myblock>
/ trials = [1-2 = noreplace(q1, q2)]
</block>

//q1
<surveypage q1>
/ questions = [1=q1_rb]
/ branch = [if (radiobuttons.q1_rb.response=="Yes") surveypage.q1_followup]
</surveypage>

<radiobuttons q1_rb>
/ caption = "Q1"
/ options = ("Yes", "No")
</radiobuttons>

//follow-up qs for q1
<surveypage q1_followup>
/ caption = "Put your Q1 follow-up questions here"
</surveypage>

//q2
<surveypage q2>
/ questions = [1=q2_rb]