Randomized triplet image sequence

Author
skyeysss
Partner Member (584 reputation)Partner Member (584 reputation)Partner Member (584 reputation)Partner Member (584 reputation)Partner Member (584 reputation)Partner Member (584 reputation)Partner Member (584 reputation)Partner Member (584 reputation)Partner Member (584 reputation)
Group: Forum Members

Hi,

I'm really new to Inquisit and trying to create a pretty standard memory experiment that requires to show a structured sequence of images. I didn't see any previous post about this question, so any suggestion is greatly appreciated!

I'm trying to create a number of triplet images (meaning there's a set order between these three images and they will show up one by one in that order). But the order among the triplets should be randomized. No image should be the same. Let's say I try to create 3 triplets, each repeated 3 times within a block for 3 blocks. And across blocks, the order of the triplets should not be the same. For all of the images some of them are neutral picture, and others are negative. For those three triplets, one triplet has the structure of "negative, neutral, neutral", one "neutral, neutral, negative", and one "neutral, neutral, neutral". It does not matter which exact neutral or negative image it selects from the pool, because we want some randomization among subjects. In a word, each picture as two property: 1) negative or neutral 2) it's position in the triplet.

I hope I made it clear what I'm trying to get! I made a few attempts but it's not getting me very far to what i want to achieve. My idea is :
1) have two lists that have all the negative/neutral image paths. e.g.,
<list negativeImages>
/ items = ("./stimuli/negative/2053.jpg","./stimuli/negative/2141.jpg","./stimuli/negative/2205.jpg","./stimuli/negative/2301.jpg","./stimuli/negative/2345.1.jpg","./stimuli/negative/2352.2.jpg","./stimuli/negative/2307.jpg","./stimuli/negative/2399.jpg","./stimuli/negative/2413.jpg")