Experiment help needed: Multiple contexts for one experimental item

Author
BaaaaL
Partner Member (579 reputation)Partner Member (579 reputation)Partner Member (579 reputation)Partner Member (579 reputation)Partner Member (579 reputation)Partner Member (579 reputation)Partner Member (579 reputation)Partner Member (579 reputation)Partner Member (579 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Hello everyone!

I find myself in need of some help designing an experiment in Inquisit 5, and I was hoping I can get the necessary feedback here. Keep in mind, I am a complete newbie to Inquisit. Basically, I am running a linguistic experiment where the participants are faced with contexts (3-4 sentence texts) and a target sentence, and they have to indicate on a 7-point Likert scale how natural the sentence sounds in that context. The two contexts are necessary because they are meant to prime different interpretations of the same sentence. What I would like to do is to code the experiment in such a way that every participant sees every target item only once, but whether a participant sees any given target item paired with context 1 or context 2 is random. I also do not know how to ensure that a participants sees an equal number of "context 1-s" and "context 2-s".

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Dave
Dave
Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)
Group: Administrators
BaaaaL - Wednesday, February 6, 2019
Hello everyone!