Dynamically changing values stored in list

Author
Jakob
Partner Member (726 reputation)Partner Member (726 reputation)Partner Member (726 reputation)Partner Member (726 reputation)Partner Member (726 reputation)Partner Member (726 reputation)Partner Member (726 reputation)Partner Member (726 reputation)Partner Member (726 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
I am rather self-taught in programming these experiments and tend to do things a bit unconventionally, sometimes. But maybe you can help me again (as you have done before).

I built a very complicated trial, which I want to “recycle” (repeat). That works perfectly fine using lists, except for storing/saving values within those trials.

In my script I run through the same block multiple times. With the help of lists, I can change the stimuli dynamically. But I do not know, how to dynamically save values, for a repeated block.

What I want: Save the value.current_click (similar to a counter) dynamically.
My approach: I have a list with the values

<list list_responses>
/items = (values.DRAWStrial1, values.DRAWStrial2, values.DRAWStrial3)
/selectionmode = (values.current_list)
</list>

<values>
/DRAWStrial1 = -88
/DRAWStrial2 = -88
/DRAWStrial3 = -88
</values>

Then, at the end of the block, I want to simply change the current value in the list. My most intuitive approach was /onblockend = [list.list_responses.nextvalue=values.current_click] but it says “the expression attempts to set the value of read-only property”:
<block someblock>
/trials = [1-12 = trial_choose]
/onblockend = [list.list_responses.nextvalue=values.current_click]
</block>

<expt>
/ blocks = [1-3= someblock]
</expt>

<summarydata>
/ columns = [values.DRAWStrial1, values.DRAWStrial2, values.DRAWStrial3]
</summarydata>

I tried other functions like
/onblockend = [list.list_responses.setitem(values.current_click, values.current_list)]
and
/onblockend = [ list.list_responses.item(values.current_list)=values.current_click]