Reusing a random selection of images and new images within a trial

Author
Selene_MQ
Associate Member (181 reputation)Associate Member (181 reputation)Associate Member (181 reputation)Associate Member (181 reputation)Associate Member (181 reputation)Associate Member (181 reputation)Associate Member (181 reputation)Associate Member (181 reputation)Associate Member (181 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Good afternoon,

I am very new to Inquisit, with programming experience in other languages (Matlab, a bit of JS and Python). I have to program an emotion-induced blindness task, and have been adapting some code that I was given by a collaborator.

Each trial in the task consists in
1- A rapid visual stream of images, that are drawn from a bunch of Filler images, one Distractor, and one Target, which can be drawn from Familiar or Unfamiliar items.
These are defined like this:

<item fillers>
/1="scene35.jpg"
/2="scene36.jpg"
/3="scene37.jpg"
</item>

<item famtargetsitems>
/1="FamScene1.jpg"
/2="FamScene2.jpg"
/3="FamScene3.jpg"
</item> etc.. for the distractors

<picture f1>
/items = fillers
/select = noreplace
</picture>

<picture f2>
/items = fillers
/select = noreplace
</picture>
<picture famtargets>
/items = famtargetsitems
/select = replace
</picture>

This step seems to work fine.

Then step 2- I would like to have 9 images displayed at once (in a 3 x 3 array), and these need to include:
- 3 fillers that were present in the stream (but chosen randomly)
- 3 Familiar targets (including the one target present in the stream, if they were in the Familiar condition)
- 3 Unfamiliar targets (including the one target present in the stream, if they were in the Unfamiliar condition).

I'm not sure where to start, as there are many things that need to be coded:
1) I would need to have some sort of object that includes all the filler images that were presented in the stream, from which I can randomly draw 3, and draw these at any of the random location on my 3x3 array.