Stimulus onset contingent upon response time

Author
tbiba
Associate Member (75 reputation)Associate Member (75 reputation)Associate Member (75 reputation)Associate Member (75 reputation)Associate Member (75 reputation)Associate Member (75 reputation)Associate Member (75 reputation)Associate Member (75 reputation)Associate Member (75 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Greetings, 

I am new to Inquisit and I am still finding ways to come to terms with not having the ability to use variables in the sense I am used to, and I am trying to do what I can with the values attribute.

Goal: I am creating a memory encoding task whereby I would like either a green or red fixation cross to appear on the screen within a trial, when a subject makes the correct or incorrect response respectively. I am unsure how to implement this however what I have tried here is to create two values before the trial, which are then imputed with the latency / 20 rounded - to convert latency to a stimulus frames number - and then this value is used as input to the stimulusframes field to be used as the fixation cross text element onsets within the trial. 

Problem: The code below attempts to implement this concept, yet it does not run as I am unsure if this means of imputing a value for stimulusframes is permissible. Is there a way to get this implementation to run? Or otherwise is there a better way to implement this feature of the task? When I try to run the code below I get the following error, yet I am not sure what this is indicating. Error: Missing ',' or '-' before 'varFrameCor'.

Please let me know if any further code or elaboration would be helpful. Many thanks!
Thomas

<block enc1block>
/ trials = [1-4 = sequence(enc1)]
/ preinstructions = (encinstruc1)
/ errormessage = false
/ postinstructions = (encfeedbackpage1)
</block>

<values>
/ varFrameCor = 0
/ varFrameIncor = 0

</values>

<trial enc1>
/ validresponse = ("a","s","d","j","k","l")
/ beginresponsetime = 0
/ numframes = 250