Millisecond Forums

From inquisit 5 to 3

https://forums.millisecond.com/Topic19254.aspx

By SamSam - 6/14/2016

Hi,

We had some communication problems in our university which has led us to program our task in inquisit 5 yet the labs only run inquisit 3 (a single upgrade is not budgeted which would be only for our team and only for two months).

The main problem we're running into is the non-existence of lists in inquisit 3. We have this little setup running in our inq5 version: (deleted a bunch of extra stuff)

<list Trials_S1Combined>
/items = (trial.3,trial.4,trial.1,trial.1,trial.1,trial.1,trial.2,trial.2,trial.2,trial.2,trial.5,trial.5,trial.6,trial.6)
/maxrunsize = 1
/poolsize = 168
/replace = false
/resetinterval = 0
</list>

<block Session1_Combined>
/trials = [1-168 = Trials_S1Combined]
</block>


Does someone have any pointers for any usable concepts inq3 allows for that serve a similar function?

Thanks a ton in advance.
By Dave - 6/14/2016

There is no equivalent to <list>s that perform *trial* selection in Inquisit 3 syntax. You need to resort to using the <block>'s /trials attribute and selection modes directly:

<block Session1_Combined>
/trials = [1-168 = noreplacenorepeat(3,4,1,1,1,1,2,2,2,2,5,5,6,6)]
</block>

This isn't quite identical to the /maxrunsize constraint in <lists>, so expect somewhat different results. (There is no closer in Inquisit 3 syntax).
By SamSam - 6/16/2016

Thanks so much again, Dave.

We ran into another problem. The trials are fed by lists, which we have converted to counters. However, a proper conversion for the following mechanism we have not figured out yet:

<trial x>
(...)
/ontrialbegin = [values.trialtype = counter.7.nextvalue]
/ontrialbegin = [if (counter.7.nextvalue == 1){values.target = 1;values.flanker = 2;}]
/ontrialbegin = [if (counter.7.nextvalue == 2){values.target = 2;values.flanker = 1;}]
etc,etc,etc
(...)
</trial>

The 'nextvalue' does not seem to be recognized. How can we pull a (new) item from a counter and use it in the trial in inquisit 3?

Thank you in advance.

By Dave - 6/16/2016

The equivalent for <counter>s would be the selectedvalue property (nextvalue does not exist for <counter>s / in Inquisit 3 syntax):

/ontrialbegin = [values.trialtype = counter.7.selectedvalue]

and so forth.
By SamSam - 6/20/2016

Dave (6/16/2016)
The equivalent for <counter>s would be the selectedvalue property (nextvalue does not exist for <counter>s / in Inquisit 3 syntax):

/ontrialbegin = [values.trialtype = counter.7.selectedvalue]

and so forth.

Perfect; cheers!

We almost have it running, except for two last things. The <page> or instruction screen box seems way smaller in inquisit 3. Is there a way to enlarge this?

Lastly, we are unable to make breaks work. This is how we have it run in inquisit 5:

<values>
/break_after_n = 10
/trialcounter = 0
</values>

<trial 1>
/ontrialbegin = [values.trialcounter + 1]
(...)
/branch = [if (values.trialcounter == values.break_after_n) trial.BreakTrial]
</trial>

And then BreakTrial is a trial that resets values.trialcounter at the end of the trial. We cannot make this branch happen in inq3; what do we have to change?

Thank you in advance!