Millisecond Forums

Forced answers in survey

https://forums.millisecond.com/Topic20334.aspx

By mongrel - 12/4/2016

Hi everybody,

this is probably a stupid question, but I cannot find in the manual how I can force participants to answer. Meaning, I have a survey with sliders and I do not want them to be able to click "next" before they have answered all questions on one page.
How can I do that?

Thanks,
M.
By Dave - 12/5/2016

mongrel - Monday, December 05, 2016
Hi everybody,

this is probably a stupid question, but I cannot find in the manual how I can force participants to answer. Meaning, I have a survey with sliders and I do not want them to be able to click "next" before they have answered all questions on one page.
How can I do that?

Thanks,
M.

Set the <slider>'s /required attribute to 'true'.

<slider myslider>
...
/ required = true
</slider>
By mongrel - 12/5/2016

Thanks!
By mongrel - 2/14/2017

Hi Dave,

I have the following script:
...
radiobuttons question1>
/ caption = "Blablabla?~n"
/ options = ("yes","no")
</radiobuttons>

<textbox question2>
/ caption = "In case you answered yes to question1, please explain in the following textblock."
/ textboxsize = (80%, 22%)
/ multiline = true
/ maxchars = 500
</textbox>

<surveypage questions>
/ fontstyle = ("Arial", -16, true, false, false, false, 5, 0)
/ questions = [1=question1; 2=question2]
/ showpagenumbers = false
/ nextlabel = "continue"
</surveypage>
...

I want answers to question2 only to be required, if question1 was answered with yes. Is there a if-then-condition for the required attribute? I don`t think, I will need a branch for that.

Thanks in advance!
M.


By Dave - 2/14/2017

mongrel - Wednesday, February 15, 2017
Hi Dave,

I have the following script:
...
radiobuttons question1>
/ caption = "Blablabla?~n"
/ options = ("yes","no")
</radiobuttons>

<textbox question2>
/ caption = "In case you answered yes to question1, please explain in the following textblock."
/ textboxsize = (80%, 22%)
/ multiline = true
/ maxchars = 500
</textbox>

<surveypage questions>
/ fontstyle = ("Arial", -16, true, false, false, false, 5, 0)
/ questions = [1=question1; 2=question2]
/ showpagenumbers = false
/ nextlabel = "continue"
</surveypage>
...

I want answers to question2 only to be required, if question1 was answered with yes. Is there a if-then-condition for the required attribute? I don`t think, I will need a branch for that.

Thanks in advance!
M.



No, this is not possible if the questions are on the same, single page. You would indeed have to use /branch. I.e., page 1 contains the yes/no question, from there /branch to the 2nd page containing question 2 only if the answer to the 1st question was yes.
By mongrel - 2/15/2017

Thank you, Dave!