Millisecond Forums

playing .mov

https://forums.millisecond.com/Topic23816.aspx

By Robyn - 2/2/2018

It's my first time trying to play a video in a script. I'm trying to play a .mov. The script runs, but when it gets to the video block I get errors:

Inquisit media error: cannot play back the file: the format is not supported. line 74: file win/MediaPlayerControl.cpp
Unable to the load media file [file location]. Verify the file is of a supported video format. 

I thought .mov was supported. Please help.

here is my script for the video part:

<trial videos>
/ stimulusframes = [1 = videotext; 2 = videos]
/ trialduration = 500
</trial>

<text videotext>
/ items = ("We are interested in what people think of videos that commonly appear on sources like twitter and youtube. On the next page, you will see a randomly selected video from one of those sites. Pelase watch the video and then we will ask you some questions about the video and your attitudes toward various social issues. ")
/ fontstyle = ("Arial", 25, false, false, false, false, 5)
/ size = (40%, 40%)
/ position = (50%,70%)
</text>

<video videos>
/ items = ("honor.mov", "victim.mov", "dignity.mov")
/ select = random
/ selectionrate = block
/ position = (50%,25%)
</video>

<block videos>
/ screencolor = (255,255,255)
/ trials = [1 = videos]
</block>
By Dave - 2/2/2018

Robyn - Friday, February 2, 2018
It's my first time trying to play a video in a script. I'm trying to play a .mov. The script runs, but when it gets to the video block I get errors:

Inquisit media error: cannot play back the file: the format is not supported. line 74: file win/MediaPlayerControl.cpp
Unable to the load media file [file location]. Verify the file is of a supported video format. 

<trial videos>
/ trialduration = 500
</trial>

<text videotext>