Millisecond Forums

Interpretation of emotional Stroop task

https://forums.millisecond.com/Topic25420.aspx

By shezza098 - 8/15/2018

Hello!
I am very new to Stroop task and have only just used it in my thesis (an emotional Stroop task) so I apologise if this question has an obvious answer.

I have collected my data and I was wondering how to go about analysing it.

From what I understand I will have to calculate an interference score (e.g., interference score = neutral word - negative word). For the neutral word score, do I just average the reaction times for all the neutral words and use that to calculate the interference score for each negative word and then average that to get a total score for negative word for each participant? Also how do the correct and incorrect responses fit into this?

I am sorry if this is obvious! I am new to Stroop.

Thanks!
Sherry
By Dave - 8/15/2018

shezza098 - Wednesday, August 15, 2018
Hello! I am very new to Stroop task and have only just used it in my thesis (an emotional Stroop task) so I apologise if this question has an obvious answer. I have collected my data and I was wondering how to go about analysing it. From what I understand I will have to calculate an interference score (e.g., interference score = neutral word - negative word). For the neutral word score, do I just average the reaction times for all the neutral words and use that to calculate the interference score for each negative word and then average that to get a total score for negative word for each participant? Also how do the correct and incorrect responses fit into this? I am sorry if this is obvious! I am new to Stroop. Thanks! Sherry

Assuming you used this script, https://www.millisecond.com/download/library/v5/stroop/emotionalstroop/emotionalstroopwithkeyboardinput.manual , bias scores are already calculated and provided in your summary data file. See the expressions.Bias_Agg to expressions.Bias_Pos variables in the output.