Millisecond Forums

valid response syntax

https://forums.millisecond.com/Topic26035.aspx

By nakayama - 11/7/2018

Hi Inquisit Community,
I wonder whether the valid response can be specified when presenting two overlapped stimuli.
I wish the valid response is specified as only the blue part but including not the overlapping part.
for example I was looking for something like
/ stimulustimes = [0=Layer1,Layer2]
/ validresponse = (Layer1 & -Layer2) 
Is there a way to do this?
Thank you in advance.
https://www.millisecond.com/forums/Uploads/Images/c1515164-24ad-4ef9-96af-38db.PNG
By Dave - 11/7/2018

nakayama - Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Hi Inquisit Community,
I wonder whether the valid response can be specified when presenting two overlapped stimuli.
I wish the valid response is specified as only the blue part but including not the overlapping part.
for example I was looking for something like
/ stimulustimes = [0=Layer1,Layer2]
/ validresponse = (Layer1 & -Layer2) 
Is there a way to do this?
Thank you in advance.
https://www.millisecond.com/forums/Uploads/Images/c1515164-24ad-4ef9-96af-38db.PNG

Yes, this can be done via /isvalidresponse:

<shape layer1>
/ shape = rectangle
/ color = blue
/ size = (60%, 40%)
</shape>

<shape layer2>
/ shape = rectangle
/ color = red
/ size = (50%, 30%)
</shape>

// order in /validresponse matters, we'll check layer2 first
// we invalidate any click within layer2 per /isvalidresponse
// result: only clicks within layer1, excluding the area covered by layer2, are accepted as response.
<trial mytrial>
/ inputdevice = mouse
/ stimulusframes = [1=layer1, layer2]
/ validresponse = (layer2, layer1)
/ isvalidresponse = [
if (trial.mytrial.response == "layer2") false else true;
]

</trial>

<block myblock>
/ trials = [1-4 = mytrial]
</block>
By nakayama - 11/12/2018

Dave - Thursday, November 8, 2018
nakayama - Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Hi Inquisit Community,
I wonder whether the valid response can be specified when presenting two overlapped stimuli.
I wish the valid response is specified as only the blue part but including not the overlapping part.
for example I was looking for something like
/ stimulustimes = [0=Layer1,Layer2]
/ validresponse = (Layer1 & -Layer2) 
Is there a way to do this?
Thank you in advance.
https://www.millisecond.com/forums/Uploads/Images/c1515164-24ad-4ef9-96af-38db.PNG

Yes, this can be done via /isvalidresponse:

<shape layer1>
/ shape = rectangle
/ color = blue
/ size = (60%, 40%)
</shape>

<shape layer2>
/ shape = rectangle
/ color = red
/ size = (50%, 30%)
</shape>

// order in /validresponse matters, we'll check layer2 first
// we invalidate any click within layer2 per /isvalidresponse
// result: only clicks within layer1, excluding the area covered by layer2, are accepted as response.
<trial mytrial>
/ inputdevice = mouse
/ stimulusframes = [1=layer1, layer2]
/ validresponse = (layer2, layer1)
/ isvalidresponse = [
if (trial.mytrial.response == "layer2") false else true;
]

</trial>

<block myblock>
/ trials = [1-4 = mytrial]
</block>

thank you Dave! it works very well:)
By nakayama - 11/12/2018

Dave - Thursday, November 8, 2018
nakayama - Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Hi Inquisit Community,
I wonder whether the valid response can be specified when presenting two overlapped stimuli.
I wish the valid response is specified as only the blue part but including not the overlapping part.
for example I was looking for something like
/ stimulustimes = [0=Layer1,Layer2]
/ validresponse = (Layer1 & -Layer2) 
Is there a way to do this?
Thank you in advance.
https://www.millisecond.com/forums/Uploads/Images/c1515164-24ad-4ef9-96af-38db.PNG

Yes, this can be done via /isvalidresponse:

<shape layer1>
/ shape = rectangle
/ color = blue
/ size = (60%, 40%)
</shape>

<shape layer2>
/ shape = rectangle
/ color = red
/ size = (50%, 30%)
</shape>

// order in /validresponse matters, we'll check layer2 first
// we invalidate any click within layer2 per /isvalidresponse
// result: only clicks within layer1, excluding the area covered by layer2, are accepted as response.
<trial mytrial>
/ inputdevice = mouse
/ stimulusframes = [1=layer1, layer2]
/ validresponse = (layer2, layer1)
/ isvalidresponse = [
if (trial.mytrial.response == "layer2") false else true;
]

</trial>

<block myblock>
/ trials = [1-4 = mytrial]
</block>

Hi Dave,
may I add another question down here?
I want to know whether the Inquisit5 allows to create some rotating shapes (fro example rotate right 30deg) like this.
Is there one syntax to do this?
Thank you;)
https://www.millisecond.com/forums/Uploads/Images/0c2094ba-2f97-4e97-8a11-202e.PNG
By Dave - 11/12/2018

nakayama - Tuesday, November 13, 2018
Dave - Thursday, November 8, 2018
nakayama - Wednesday, November 7, 2018
Hi Inquisit Community,
I wonder whether the valid response can be specified when presenting two overlapped stimuli.
I wish the valid response is specified as only the blue part but including not the overlapping part.
for example I was looking for something like
/ stimulustimes = [0=Layer1,Layer2]
/ validresponse = (Layer1 & -Layer2) 
Is there a way to do this?
Thank you in advance.
https://www.millisecond.com/forums/Uploads/Images/c1515164-24ad-4ef9-96af-38db.PNG

Yes, this can be done via /isvalidresponse:

<shape layer1>
/ shape = rectangle
/ color = blue
/ size = (60%, 40%)
</shape>

<shape layer2>
/ shape = rectangle
/ color = red
/ size = (50%, 30%)
</shape>

// order in /validresponse matters, we'll check layer2 first
// we invalidate any click within layer2 per /isvalidresponse
// result: only clicks within layer1, excluding the area covered by layer2, are accepted as response.
<trial mytrial>
/ inputdevice = mouse
/ stimulusframes = [1=layer1, layer2]
/ validresponse = (layer2, layer1)
/ isvalidresponse = [
if (trial.mytrial.response == "layer2") false else true;
]

</trial>

<block myblock>
/ trials = [1-4 = mytrial]
</block>

Hi Dave,
may I add another question down here?
I want to know whether the Inquisit5 allows to create some rotating shapes (fro example rotate right 30deg) like this.
Is there one syntax to do this?
Thank you;)
https://www.millisecond.com/forums/Uploads/Images/0c2094ba-2f97-4e97-8a11-202e.PNG

No, I'm afraid rotating stimuli is currently not among its capabilities.