Millisecond Forums

Controlling the number of times a stimulus is presented over entire experiment

https://forums.millisecond.com/Topic28876.aspx

By Selene_MQ - 4/27/2020

Good morning,

I am very new to Inquisit and still not familiar with how it works. I have been trying to adapt the existing Emotional-n-back task that I got from the library, to create a simple 1-back task using 56 different images. The idea is for participants to implicitely learn these images by doing a 1-back task. So far, the script seems to be doing approximately what I want, except that when I calculated at the end the number of times each image was presented, it varied greatly (with 8 blocks, and 64 images per block, I would expect each of my 56 images to appear about 9 times, but in reality it varied between 2 and 23). I really don't know how to control this so that each image appears the same number of times across the experiment.

I have attached the script to this post, and would greatly appreciate any help you may provide,

Thank you so much in advance,
Selene
By Dave - 4/28/2020

Selene_MQ - 4/28/2020
Good morning,

I am very new to Inquisit and still not familiar with how it works. I have been trying to adapt the existing Emotional-n-back task that I got from the library, to create a simple 1-back task using 56 different images. The idea is for participants to implicitely learn these images by doing a 1-back task. So far, the script seems to be doing approximately what I want, except that when I calculated at the end the number of times each image was presented, it varied greatly (with 8 blocks, and 64 images per block, I would expect each of my 56 images to appear about 9 times, but in reality it varied between 2 and 23). I really don't know how to control this so that each image appears the same number of times across the experiment.

I have attached the script to this post, and would greatly appreciate any help you may provide,

Selene

<list notargetvalue>