Millisecond Forums

Displaying Sets of Stimuli for Participants to Select/Combine

https://forums.millisecond.com/Topic29971.aspx

By ashleym - 10/22/2020

Hi there,

I am trying to design a task where participants will view different sets of images and messages and create combinations of them. I have been searching around the messages boards and I have come across different threads that are close or have elements of what I am looking for, but I have yet to be able to figure out exactly how to create this task. I am not an Inquisit expert, so I wonder if someone can just help me get started.

The task should proceed as follows:
1a. On screen, four randomly selected images appear in a square-like grid. Each image (.jpg files) belongs to one of four categories ("RM", "RL", "UM", "UL") that include 10 images each. For any given trial, one randomly selected image should appear on screen from each of the four categories.
1b. Participants will select one image (ideally this mouse input could be recorded as their response).

2a. On the next screen, two randomly selected messages appear next to each other (.png files). Each message belongs to one of two categories ("MAX", "MIN") that include 10 messages each. For any given trial, one randomly selected message should appear on screen from each of the two categories.
2b. Participants will select one message (ideally the mouse input would be recorded as their response).

3. On a third screen, participants' selection of the image (e.g., "RM01") and message (e.g., "MAX15") will both appear on screen simultaneously, essentially to show participants the combination that they created. 

The subsequent block would look identical, with four new (noreplace) images and two new (noreplace) messages followed by showing participants their selected combination, and this would go on until participants had worked through all of the image and message stimuli.