Millisecond Forums

Dropdown listsize

https://forums.millisecond.com/Topic9787.aspx

By ericeric - 2/26/2013

I have been struggling to change the height of the dropdown list, so that you can see the entire larger test within it.  The / listsize = (100px,200px) height of 100px changes the width, but the height will not change.  I have tried size and other attributes as well. What is going wrong here?



<survey demographics>
/ pages = [1=schoolname]
/ fontstyle = ("Verdana", 18, false, false, false, false, 5, 0)
/ itemfontstyle = ("Verdana", 24, false, false, false, false, 5, 0)
/ itemspacing = 4%
/ showpagenumbers = false
</survey>


<surveypage schoolname>
/ fontstyle = ("Verdana", -24, false, false, false, false, 5, 0)
/ questions = [1=school_name]
</surveypage>


<dropdown school_name>
/ caption = "Please Select your School"
/ options = ("List","of","Schools")
/ listsize = (100px,200px)
</dropdown>

By Dave - 2/26/2013

Changing the height of a dropdown list does not make much sense. It's height will automatically be determined by the number of options.


The listsize attribute's height setting effectively only applies to listbox elements, that's where it may make sense for layout purposes:


<survey demographics>
/ pages = [1=schoolname]
/ fontstyle = ("Verdana", 18, false, false, false, false, 5, 0)
/ itemfontstyle = ("Verdana", 24, false, false, false, false, 5, 0)
/ itemspacing = 4%
/ showpagenumbers = false
</survey>

<surveypage schoolname>
/ fontstyle = ("Verdana", -24, false, false, false, false, 5, 0)
/ questions = [1=school_name]
</surveypage>

<listbox school_name>
/ caption = "Please Select your School"
/ options = ("List","of","Schools")
/ listsize = (100px,200px)
</listbox>


Regards,


~Dave

By ericeric - 2/26/2013

Thanks for the response Dave-


Is there a way to ensure that the entire 1st item is visible before you click on the dropdown list?  Right now the initial dropdown only has a height of about 12pt font, and doesn't expand to show the entire 18pt like I want.


-Eric

By Dave - 2/26/2013

Is there a way to ensure that the entire 1st item is visible before you click on the dropdown list?


For that you would have to specify the 1st item as /defaultresponse:


<survey demographics>
/ pages = [1=schoolname]
/ fontstyle = ("Verdana", 18, false, false, false, false, 5, 0)
/ itemfontstyle = ("Verdana", 24, false, false, false, false, 5, 0)
/ itemspacing = 4%
/ showpagenumbers = false
</survey>

<surveypage schoolname>
/ fontstyle = ("Verdana", -24, false, false, false, false, 5, 0)
/ questions = [1=school_name]
</surveypage>

<dropdown school_name>
/ caption = "Please Select your School"
/ options = ("List","of","Schools")
/ defaultresponse = "List"
/ listsize = (100px,200px)
</dropdown>


All in all, though, it seems like using a <listbox> instead of a <dropdown> might be the better option, i.e., closer to what you want layout-wise.


Regards,


~Dave

By ericeric - 2/26/2013

Sorry for the confusion- A picture might be a better way to visualize my issue (see below).  I would like to increase the height so that 'List' is visible.



By Dave - 2/26/2013

This may be a Mac-specific issue. First off: Is your Inquisit version up to date or are you still using any of the beta versions? The latest release can always be obtained via http://www.millisecond.com/download/. If your installation is outdated, please install the latest release and check if the issue persists. Please report back with the result.


If the issue is present in the latest version, you are hitting a platform-specific display bug in Inquisit 4 for Mac.


Apart from that, I repeat my recommendation re. using <listbox> instead.


Thanks,


~Dave

By ericeric - 2/26/2013



Yes it is the most current version (4.0.2), and on a Mac (10.7.5).


 


The listbox solves the problem, so I suppose we'll make due with that.


 


Thanks,


Eric