Millisecond Forums

Help with a survey - branching and randomization

https://forums.millisecond.com/Topic9896.aspx

By dpmotto - 3/10/2013

I'm wondering if someone might be able to help me.  I've no experience with the language of programming so have spent quite some time going through the Inquisit 3 Help file and checking this forum.   I'm at a dead end right now.  Here’s
a summary of my project.

All
participants complete a survey of 50 questions/items (all radiobuttons),
read a page of stimulus material (a ‘letter to the editor’), respond (type in
their thoughts about the arguments raised in the letter) on a separate page
(textbox), and then complete 10 further questions.

QUESTIONS --> STIMULUS --> RESPONSE --> QUESTIONS

While
all participants will answer the same set of questions, I’m aiming for
participants to read only one of four different stimulus materials (they are all ‘letters to the
editor’), determined by their responses to a question called ‘beliefs’ – a
radiobuttons item with four options.  Participants
who choose options 1 or 2 will be randomly allocated to read one of two
‘letters’ advocating the same position on an issue but differing with respect
to the author (A1 = expert vs. A2 = novice). 
Participants who choose options 3 or 4 on the beliefs question will likewise be randomly allocated to read one of two ‘letters’ advocating an alternate
position from that of A.  Similarly, B1
represents an expert author, B2 a novice.

QUESTIONS (BELIEF) --> score=1or2--> RANDOM ALLOCATE TO A1 or A2--> RESPONSE--> QUESTIONS

QUESTIONS (BELIEF) --> score=3or4--> RANDOM ALLOCATE TO B1 or B2--> RESPONSE--> QUESTIONS

I
have created an Inquisit script which includes all the questions and stimulus
materials.  It runs, but participants must read all four stimuli.  Obviously that's no good.  The only real obstacle now is the
random allocation issue raised above. 
I’ve read the Help file and surveyed the forum but they leave me confused.  

I've tried: