Stroop task - repeat practice + randomise with constraints

Author
KarlaHolmboe
Esteemed Member (2K reputation)Esteemed Member (2K reputation)Esteemed Member (2K reputation)Esteemed Member (2K reputation)Esteemed Member (2K reputation)Esteemed Member (2K reputation)Esteemed Member (2K reputation)Esteemed Member (2K reputation)Esteemed Member (2K reputation)
Group: Forum Members

Hello

I am pretty new to Inquisit, so I apologise if the following questions are stupid.

I have managed to modify the verbal stroop task (downloaded from Inquisit task library) so it runs 3 blocks: word reading, colour naming and incongruent colour naming. Each block is preceded by a practice block of 3 trials.

I have 2 questions:

1. I would like to be able to repeat the practice for each block by pressing a key on the keyboard (i.e. "r"). That is, when the practice block ends, I would like to present a screen saying something like "Would you like to repeat the practice". Then depending on what key I press, the practice will be repeated or the experiment will continue to the test block. I don't know how to do this.

2. I would like to randomise the trials in my test blocks, so that no trial type is repeated more than 3 times in a row (e.g., the red square is presented max 3 times in a row).  I have looked on the forum, but couldn't find a way to do this. Ideally for the incongruent stimuli I would like to make sure that both the colour and meaning for the word is not repeated more than 3 times in a row, but that might end up being to complicated...

Any help much appreciated - thanks!

My script looks like this so far:

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
                    *** STROOP TASK WITH VOICE RECORDING *****
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------           

I have modified this script in accordance with Leon-Carrion et al. 2004.