Is it possible to continuously record the status of the mouse buttons during a video?

Is it possible to continuously record the status of the mouse buttons...
Author
ambercat11
Associate Member (204 reputation)Associate Member (204 reputation)Associate Member (204 reputation)Associate Member (204 reputation)Associate Member (204 reputation)Associate Member (204 reputation)Associate Member (204 reputation)Associate Member (204 reputation)Associate Member (204 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Hi there,

I'm new to Inquisit and I am wondering whether my experiment is possible to code in this program. 
The experiment should
1. Play a video clip
2. Record whether or not the right and/or left button is being pressed on the mouse every 100 milliseconds (or at least every second) during the clip. 
 - to clarify, I do not want to measure whether or not the button has been clicked within every 100 milliseconds, but rather whether it is being held down. Participants will be using the mouse buttons to report their emotions, which may continue across 100 millisecond frames.
3. Output time stamped data for the left button and right button throughout the clip. Basically, I want to know every 100 milliseconds or so whether or not the right button is being held down, the left button is being held down, or both, or neither are being held down. 

Can anyone tell me whether this is even possible in Inquisit? I would also be willing to use two keys on the keyboard instead of the mouse if it isn't possible with the mouse. 

So far all I have been able to do is get the video to play and record one mouse click, which is not even close to what I am trying to do, but here is my code anyway:

<values>
/ rightbuttondown= ""
/ leftbuttondown=""
</values>

<data>
/ columns = [date time subject blocknum blockcode trialnum trialcode stimulusitem
values.rightbuttondown values.leftbuttondown]
/ separatefiles = true
</data>

<video BondVid>
/ items = ("BondVid.mpg")
/ position = (50, 50)
</video>