Unable to initialize item number 1. Verify the item exists and is correctly defined.

Author
james.schmidt
Associate Member (217 reputation)Associate Member (217 reputation)Associate Member (217 reputation)Associate Member (217 reputation)Associate Member (217 reputation)Associate Member (217 reputation)Associate Member (217 reputation)Associate Member (217 reputation)Associate Member (217 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
I am new to Inquisit and receiving the above error message that I am not sure I understand after a bunch of sanity checks. The offending line of code seems to be here:

<picture primeS>
/ items = ("<%values.currShape%>")
/ size = (15%,15%)
</picture>

The values.currShape item will change on each trial on the basis of ontrialbegin code like the following:

/ ontrialbegin = [values.randNum = rand(0,3); values.currWord=""; values.distType=2;
if(values.randNum < 1){values.currShape=values.shape1; values.contingency=0;}
else if(values.rndNumber < 2){values.currShape=values.shape2; values.contingency=1;}
else{values.currShape=values.shape3; values.contingency=1;}]

The values.shape1, values.shape2, and values.shape3 file names are themselves set earlier with an onexptbegin randomization:

/ onexptbegin=[if (values.rndShape==0){values.shape1=values.shapeA; values.shape2=values.shapeB; values.shape3=values.shapeC;}
else if (values.rndShape==1){values.shape1=values.shapeA; values.shape2=values.shapeC; values.shape3=values.shapeB;}
else if (values.rndShape==2){values.shape1=values.shapeB; values.shape2=values.shapeA; values.shape3=values.shapeC;}
else if (values.rndShape==3){values.shape1=values.shapeB; values.shape2=values.shapeC; values.shape3=values.shapeA;}
else if (values.rndShape==4){values.shape1=values.shapeC; values.shape2=values.shapeA; values.shape3=values.shapeB;}
else{values.shape1=values.shapeC; values.shape2=values.shapeB; values.shape3=values.shapeA;}]