Interpretation of emotional Stroop task

Author
shezza098
Respected Member (391 reputation)Respected Member (391 reputation)Respected Member (391 reputation)Respected Member (391 reputation)Respected Member (391 reputation)Respected Member (391 reputation)Respected Member (391 reputation)Respected Member (391 reputation)Respected Member (391 reputation)
Group: Forum Members
Hello!
I am very new to Stroop task and have only just used it in my thesis (an emotional Stroop task) so I apologise if this question has an obvious answer.

I have collected my data and I was wondering how to go about analysing it.

From what I understand I will have to calculate an interference score (e.g., interference score = neutral word - negative word). For the neutral word score, do I just average the reaction times for all the neutral words and use that to calculate the interference score for each negative word and then average that to get a total score for negative word for each participant? Also how do the correct and incorrect responses fit into this?

I am sorry if this is obvious! I am new to Stroop.

Thanks!
Sherry
Dave
Dave
Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)
Group: Administrators
shezza098 - Wednesday, August 15, 2018