Help with data analysis in SPSS

Author
gemma
Respected Member (481 reputation)Respected Member (481 reputation)Respected Member (481 reputation)Respected Member (481 reputation)Respected Member (481 reputation)Respected Member (481 reputation)Respected Member (481 reputation)Respected Member (481 reputation)Respected Member (481 reputation)
Group: Forum Members

Hi,

I'm a PhD student, who's used the IAT to look at attitudes to mental vs physical illnesses. I created the IAT by modifying the insects/flowers one. I've had 280 participants complete it, but now am having problems analysing the data in SPSS. When I try to run the SPSS syntax, an error message appears.

(I also haven't figured out yet how to get data from one participant onto one line in SPSS- my data is over several columns and rows at the moment, and I'm only looking at data from one participant at a time).

I am a psychologist, and my PhD is in medical education, so I have limited in-depth SPSS knowledge (basic stats are about it). I've read a lot of posts on the forum but didn't understand much of the computery talk!

Any help would be much appreciated, as I am getting very stressed out with the IAT at the moment!

Thanks

Gemma  

Dave
Dave
Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)
Group: Administrators

I see several issues here:

(1) IAT template and matching SPSS syntax

I created the IAT by modifying the
insects/flowers one. [...] When I try to run the SPSS syntax, an error
message appears.

The first thing to clarify is which IAT template exactly you used.
There are a bunch of them around:

- Tony
Greenwald's (somewhat outdated) template available from http://faculty.washington.edu/agg/iat_materials.htm
along with a matching SPSS
syntax file

- The