Inquisit 2 Web Edition -- frequent crashes

Author
rickcheung
Partner Member (788 reputation)Partner Member (788 reputation)Partner Member (788 reputation)Partner Member (788 reputation)Partner Member (788 reputation)Partner Member (788 reputation)Partner Member (788 reputation)Partner Member (788 reputation)Partner Member (788 reputation)
Group: Forum Members

I have been using my Inquisit 2 Web License for a few years now without any problem.

Last week I put up a new program and have been running participants since then. For more than 50% of the time, the program crashes/hangs. It mostly crashes when participants were doing Likert-scale items.

Is there anything I could do to get around?

Dave
Dave
Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)Supreme Being (1M reputation)
Group: Administrators

Inquisit 2.0 is a somewhat outdated product by now. It was last updated in 2008, the last supported OS is Vista, and there are no plans to update the Inquisit 2.0 codebase for compatibility with the latest browsers and operating systems. It's possible that the issues you're experiencing are due to such incompatibilities (i.e., particpants running Win7, IE9, 64bit, etc.), however at least make sure you're using the latest version of the Inquisit 2.0 web control (2.0.61004.7). You might also want to test systematically if different launch methods (ActiveX, ClickOnce, Firefox plugin, etc.) give you different results under different software (browser / OS) configurations. If so, you could restrict yourself to those that work best.

Hope this (somewhat) helps,

~Dave

rickcheung
rickcheung